Main Banner
Tea House The studio in which I teach my students.
The basic textbooks
The scissors/secateur
The kenzan


Frequency: In 2014, classes will be conducted once a month, with the possibility of increasing to fortnightly classes later.

Maximum class size is five students per class. Students are required to attend all the lessons and must not miss more than 2 lessons to secure their place in the course.

Course duration: 5 lessons.

Fee: $30 per lesson (payable at the start of each lesson).

Materials: Students provide their own small bunch of flowers (roses are used at the first few lessons).
  • Students are taught how to source branches and flowers from their own garden for use in later lessons.
  • (Note: I do provide the flowers for the student’s first lesson. Also, I provide the vases that are used in all lessons as well as the necessary kenzan.)

Location: I teach in my purpose-built studio located in my own garden in Bruce, Canberra.

Textbooks: I follow the curriculum set out by Sogetsu Headquarters in Japan.
  • There are two textbooks that provide the guidelines to be followed by students. These guidelines provide students with their foundation and an understanding of line, mass, colour, and space.
  • Textbook 1: Emphasises the various three dimensional patterns, using natural plant materials. The techniques contained in the textbook enable the student to achieve the desired result.
  • Textbook 2: Encourages students to expand their imagination and self expression through the sensitive use of natural materials and the container. Through conscious actions the plants and flowers are given a new form, new life, and new meaning.

Costs: As well as the lesson fees there are some other costs that should be taken into account. There are two moderately priced textbooks that will be needed. You will also need suitable scissors/secateur for cutting and trimming materials. If you intend to practice at home you will need some Kenzan – the needle point holders.

Achievement: After completing the four parts of the two textbooks a student can advance their studies and qualify as a teacher.

The teaching levels that can be obtained are: (from lowest to highest levels)
  • Teacher Level 4 (normally takes 4 years of training/experience)
  • Teacher Level 3 (normally takes another 2 years)
  • Teacher Level 2 (normally takes another 4 years)
  • Teacher Level 1 (normally takes another 4 years)
  • Teacher Komon qualified (normally takes another 2 years)
  • Teacher Riji qualified (normally a further 3 to 5 years of training/experience)